SIA Licences – CCTV – training providers

by SIA Site Admin // January 5

Training & qualifications – Information for Training providers

During knowledge based/theoretical training and assessment periods, candidates must have access to an approved training room as stipulated by awarding bodies.

For practical training purposes candidates should have access to a CCTV (PSS) control room environment. This may be provided by a simulated control room with operational CCTV (PSS) equipment or by access to a live environment where there is space for training and assessment.

The room must be adequately equipped for the purpose of training, conducive to effective learning and must comply with current Health and Safety requirements. Equipment for practical demonstrations must be readily available.

Approved Trainers

Approved trainers delivering programmes against this specification must have successfully completed a formal training or instructional qualification or programme. Examples of such are:

  • BTEC Advanced Training and Presenting Award
  • CIPD Certificate in Training Practice
  • NVQ Levels 3, 4 or 5 in Learning & Development
  • City & Guilds Level 4 Certificate in Further Education Teaching (7407)
  • City & Guilds Level 3 & 4 Certificate in Teaching Adult Learning (7307)
  • City & Guilds Level 3 Certificate in Delivering Learning (7302)
  • HMF Methods of Instruction full qualification
  • Home Office Approved Trainers i.e. Police, Fire Service, HM Customs and HM Prisons
  • IPSA Trainers’ Award
  • SITO Training and Delivering Learning Programme (City & Guilds 7302)
  • Recognised Teaching Qualification
  • Other instructional / training qualification approved by Awarding Bodies

(This list is not exhaustive and Awarding Bodies may require attendance in additional train-the-trainer courses in order to deliver the training outlined in this specification. Please note also that this list includes a number of trainer programmes that do not lead to an externally recognised ‘trainer’ qualification. The SIA recognises that many trainers will need to update their skills and gain and external awarding body trainer qualification which will be a prerequisite for trainers to train SIA qualifications for licensing in the future. The current trainer awards will remain valid during the licence roll-out period and probably until the end of 2005. The SIA will give adequate notice to its awarding bodies when this change is required.)

Sector Competence for Approved Trainers

Trainers delivering the mandatory core competency training must demonstrate that they have a minimum of two years appropriate experience within an operational environment of CCTV control rooms. Awarding bodies may require additional information about a trainer’s related experience for consideration in the approval process, for example, evidence of CCTV experience in HMF, the police service, fire service, operational CCTV management.