SIA Licences – Close Protection – training providers

by SIA Site Admin // January 5

Training & qualifications – Information for Training providers

Criteria for Training Delivery

Training providers will be required to gain approval from their awarding bodies for suitability of their training and assessment facilities


Knowledge based/theoretical training and assessment must be carried out in a learning environment as stipulated by awarding bodies. Training rooms must be adequately equipped for the purpose of training, conducive to effective learning and must comply with current Health and Safety requirements Practical scenario based training and assessment should take place in a location that is as realistic as possible to a normal close protection environment and must also be subject to Health and Safety requirements.

Approved Trainers

Approved trainers delivering programmes against this specification must have successfully completed a formal training or instructional qualification or programme. Examples of such are:

  • BTEC Advanced Training and Presenting Award
  • CIPD Certificate in Training Practice
  • NVQ Levels 3, 4 or 5 in Learning & Development
  • City & Guilds Level 4 Certificate in Further Education Teaching (7407)
  • City & Guilds Level 3 & 4 Certificate in Teaching Adult Learning (7307)
  • City & Guilds Level 3 Certificate in Delivering Learning (7302)
  • HMF Methods of Instruction full qualification
  • Home Office Approved Trainers i.e. Police, Fire Service, HM Customs and HM Prisons
  • IPSA Trainers’ Award
  • SITO Training and Delivering Learning Programme (City & Guilds 7302)
  • Recognised Teaching Qualification
  • Other instructional / training qualification approved by Awarding Bodies

(This list is not exhaustive and Awarding Bodies may require attendance on additional train-the-trainer courses in order to deliver the training outlined in this specification. Please note also that this list includes a number of trainer programmes that do not lead to an externally recognised ‘trainer’ qualification. The SIA recognises that many trainers will need to update their skills and gain an external awarding body trainer qualification which will be a prerequisite for trainers to train SIA qualifications for licensing in the future. The current trainer awards will remain valid during the licence roll-out period and probably until the end of 2005. The SIA will give adequate notice to its awarding bodies when this change is required.)

Trainers who deliver Session 16 (Communication and Conflict Management Skills) should have successfully achieved a nationally recognised Conflict Management Trainer Award. (Details to be published shortly)

Sector Competence for Approved Trainers

Trainers delivering the mandatory core competency training must demonstrate that they have had 3 years operational experience in close protection within the last 5 years. However, other close protection experience and circumstances may be considered by awarding bodies.